Open Book Society Review

The Secret of Willow Lane

This review is from OBS reviewer Valerie

September 25, 2012

 

 

4.0 out of 4 stars

 

I’ve actually been reading a lot of novellas recently. I don’t know why; it’s kind of this unexpected event in my life. I’m planning to name it “Attack of the Mutant Novella Ninjas….” Anyways, back to the point. I actually enjoyed The Secret of Willow Lane! I was definitely reluctant to read it, but in the end I finally picked it up. Three words: it was pretty amazing. Okay, maybe that was four, but I can’t count…

Reviews

Reviews

Amazon Review

The Secret of Willow Lane (Kindle Edition)

By Vanessa

August 29, 2011

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

 

Awesome Book!!!

 

My 9 year old daughter read this book and loved it, she wanted to read every day after school! In the past I've had a hard time getting her interested in reading books but she was automatically drawn into it and was truly excited to read chapter after chapter. I would recommend it to anyone, it is an awesome story, descriptive, creative, and exciting! Can't wait for the next mystery...

Amazon Review

The Secret of Willow Lane (Kindle Edition)

By Victoria

August 16, 2011

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

 

A new tradition begins?!

 

Every summer I take a few hours on a sultry afternoon to read a Nancy Drew or Hardy Boys book, even though I'm 46. It takes me back to those endlessly long days of swimming, reading the hot afternoons away, and catching lightning bugs in a jar. This year I broke the old tradition and read Virginia Richter's book. I was turning the pages like I was a kid again. I just hope this is the start of a series with the sequel out by next summer. I don't have Kindle, but loading the Kindle app was free and took 2 minutes.

 

Amazon Review

The Secret of Willow Lane (Kindle Edition)

By Lori L. Fleener

November 10, 2011

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

 

 A New Classic

 

My 11 year old couldnt put this down. And I agree. Virginia has created 2 characters that you will love and enough excitement to keep you reading. In the tradition of Nancy Drew this is sure to be a classic. If you want to buy a book for your young reader that he or she can pass on to you this is the book to get. They will love and you will to

Amazon Review

Shadows On The Lane (Kindle Edition)

By LAS Reviewer

May 23, 2013

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars

 

Fantastic Read

 

Jessie and Tina are almost thirteen and excited to be treated as the mature nearly ladies they are - allowed to attend the posh afternoon tea opening of a new museum in their home, Willow Lane. Mid-way through, Jessie goes out onto the balcony to get some air. She witnesses an accident involving her crush, Bryce's little sister. It was all over in an instant - and the hit and run driver escaped. Once again Jessie is drawn into some detective work - to help find the person who hit little Sunny and left her without a care.

 

This is a fun and interesting book I feel is suitable for young teenagers and mystery-inclined youthful readers. I really enjoyed the main cast of characters, all of whom I found well rounded and realistic. Jessie in particular is a vibrant and interesting heroine, strong and intelligent but still young enough to be swayed by her crush and impulsive in her actions. There's no swearing or any behavior I felt to be inappropriate within this book. I felt it a clean, fresh mystery with a dash of teenage hormones and girlish fun. While the plot isn't some throw-away side thought (Tina and Jessie playing detective and trying to solve the crime and discover the perpetrator) it's written in a light-hearted, good spirited, fun manner that will appeal to pre-teens and shouldn't appear dumbed-down or too childish.

 

I would have loved reading this book in my pre-teen years (I was - and still am - a massive Nancy Drew fan) and feel both boys and girls of a similar age and interests will greatly enjoy this story. While the plot is resolved - it's clear there are many more tales from this small town. I'll certainly be keeping my eyes open for more!

Amazon Review

The Secret of Willow Lane (Kindle Edition)

By Maxine Holmes

September 22, 2012

 

 

5.0 out of 5 stars 

 

The secret behind the Willow Lane mysteries is look out Nancy Drew! The Willow Lane mystery series is one that I could easily become addicted to and I envision young readers gravitating to Ms. Richter's series just as my friends and I did to Nancy Drew.

 

The Secret of Willow Lane is artistically written by Virginia Rose Richter with a cast of young characters: eleven year old detective, Jessie Hanson and Tina Adams who are intelligent, articulate and strategic thinkers. The secret behind Willow Lane is completely unexpected and keeps the reader delightfully off balance throughout this quick paced adventure. I relish Ms. Richter's technique for building intrigue, danger and humor into her young detectives lives. Ms. Richter's audience reaches out to girls between the ages of 8 and up. The vocabulary creates a challenging, enjoyable read utilizing engaging vocabulary and dialogue. Ms. Richter paints a beautiful neighborhood inhibited by families most readers can appreciate and identify with.

Amazon Review

Strangers In The Lane (Kindle Edition)

By Roberta Goodman - LAS Reviews

Author of Persevering Through the Unforeseen, A Sojourn in Hell & Snow Escape

January 5, 2013

 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

 

Two twelve-year-old girls set out to investigate a robbery plot!

 

When twelve-year-old Jesse Hanson and her best friend, Tina, overhear a robbery being plotted, transmitted from another location over her brother's baby monitor, they set out to investigate. Caught off guard by the conversation they heard between a woman with a foreign accent and a male, they deduce it must have taken place in the vicinity of another baby monitor.

The next day Jesse's mother hosts Tina's mother's baby shower at the Hanson house. Having been informed that small children will be attending, the two friends take the opportunity to start ingratiating themselves among mothers and their offspring. There's only a week before the robbery is to take place, but after several days of searching the woman with the accent remains a mystery. Jesse decides it's time to tell her mother and get the authorities involved.

Strangers in the Lane by Virginia Rose Richter is the second installment of the new mystery novella series aimed at pre-teens. The character of amateur detective Jesse Hanson shows her maturity by realizing she's encountered a dangerous situation that she and Tina can't possibly handle alone. The addition of Bryce Peterson, a new boy in the neighborhood that Jesse develops a crush on, adds an interesting dynamic to this story.

 

Amazon Review

Shadows On The Lane (Kindle Edition)

By Roberta Goodman

Author of Persevering Through the Unforeseen, A Sojourn in Hell & Snow Escape

January 12, 2013

 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars 

 

When a child is the victim of a hit-and-run, twelve-year-old amateur

detective Jessie Hanson has another mystery to solve.


When Jessie Hanson witnesses a hit-and-run of a child, she knows she must find the person responsible. It's the opening day of The Swedish Museum, which was converted from the Johnson mansion on Willow Lane, and tea is being served. Twelve-year-old Jessie and her best friend Tina are in attendance. After watching her friend Bryce play a duet on his violin, Jessie decides to take a break from the festivities and ventures out onto a balcony to get some fresh air.

A boy and girl are on the lawn playing with a beach ball. Several minutes later, the ball goes out into the street. When the little girl goes to retrieve it, Jessie witnesses her being hit by a car. In addition to the shock of seeing the accident, Jessie learns the girl is the sister of her friend Bryce. Fortunately, Sunny only sustains a leg injury. Unfortunately, she's also suffered temporary amnesia, so she doesn't remember the accident or who was driving the car.

Shadows on the Lane is the third installment of the new mystery series of novellas aimed at pre-teens. Author Virginia Rose Richter has written another enjoyable whodunit. While trying to remember every detail of the accident, Jessie recalls Sunny waving at the driver before being struck. Is it possible the child knows the person responsible? When Jessie hatches a plan to jolt Sunny's memory, will her suspicions be right?

 

Amazon Review

Shadows On The Lane (Kindle Edition)

By EK Ellis

December 28, 2012

 

 

4.0 out of 5 stars

 

Enjoyable YA (Young Adult) Mystery

 

Time flies. School is out and summer's in full bloom for the folks of Willow Lane. In the third book from the Willow Lanes Mysteries series, Jessie Hanson is once again enthralled into a new mystery.


Solving mystery these days aren't the only thing occupying Jessie Hanson's mind. Her crush on Bryce Peterson continues. Her best friend is busy helping her parents with the new arrival of twin sisters and now Jessie is taking piano lessons.


After witnessing a terrible accident, Jessie and the people of Jessie's town are livid. How could such a thing occur in their beloved quiet little town and to such innocence?
Jessie can't rest while there's someone out there responsible for hurting an innocent child.
While the town police are on the job leave it up to Jessie Hanson to help find the culprit.
Virginia Rose Richter has done it again, creating a story that is both captivating and enjoyable to read.


If you haven't read the first two books from the Willow Lane Mysteries Series, The Secret of Willow Lane & Strangers in the Lane, you might just want to do so. I guarantee you'll become a fan of this author and come to be enchanted with Jessie Hanson and the people of Willow Lane. 

Amazon Review

The Secret of Willow Lane (Kindle Edition)

By Carolyn

June 24, 2011

 

 

4.0 out of 4 stars

 

A Fun Read

 

I so enjoyed this book because it reminded me of the Nancy Drew Mysteries, which I collected. I especially liked that this book took place in Nebraska, where I grew up and I believe that all ages, especially pre-teens, will enjoy this mystery.

© 2020 by Willow Lane Mysteries. Website design by Bloom Graphic Designs